Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Thursday, June 11, 2009

Twenty20 World Cup – India register a comfortable win against Ireland

© Getty Images
India and Sri Lanka register a comfortable win in their last group stage games

India v Ireland – Irish taste their first defeat in T20I by the hands of World Champion

A super and clinical performance by the team India gave them an easy win over Ireland to complete their Group stage games. Fine unbeaten half-century by Rohit Sharma and a fine 37 runs by Gautam Gambhir helped India beat Ireland by eight wickets.

Other star performer of the match was Zaheer Khan who bowled his heart out to take four crucial Irish wickets. Chasing the target of 113 runs for victory India never seems in any discomfort during their run chase and in the end achieved the target with 2.3 overs to spare.

Earlier due to rain game was reduced to 18 overs per side. M.SDhoni won the toss and rightly elected to bowl first in cloudy condition. Zaheer Khan started the proceeding for India and bowled exceptionally well to come out with figure of 4/19 in his three over spell. P.Ojha continued his good form with ball by picking up two wickets in his quota of four overs.

Only A.White (29 runs of 25 balls) and J.Mooney (19 runs of 22 balls) able to spend some time in the middle and put on valuable partnership of 24 runs for the seventh wicket.

Zaheer Khan was declared Player-of-the-Match for his outstanding bowling figure of 4/19 in his three overs.

Match Summary (India won by 8 Wickets)

Ireland – 112/9 in 18 Overs

A.White- 29 J.Mooney –19

Z.Khan– 3-0-19-4 P.Ojha- 4-0-18-2

India – 113/2 in 15.3 Overs

Rohit Sharma- 52* Gautam Gambhir–37

R. West – 4-0-23-1 W.McCallan- 3.3-0-28-1

India v Ireland World Twnety20 Highlights

Sri Lanka v West Indies – Jayasurya and Dilshan star in an easy win

Sanath Jayasurya and T.Dilshan blistering knock helped Sri Lanka to beat West Indies in their last group match by 15 runs. Both batsmen put on 124 runs stand for the first wicket to put Sri Lanka in command to get big total on the board.

The duo lifted Sri Lanka to 192-5, a total the West Indies chased bravely despite the absence of their star batsman and Captain Chris Gayle. West Indies tried hard to chase down the big total with the brilliant effort from D.Bravo (51 runs of 28 balls) and R.Srawan (28 runs of 27 balls). Both put on 77 runs of just 59 balls to get West Indies closer to the target.

Bravo hit a 38-ball 51 that included five fours and two sixes, while Sarwan remained unbeaten on 28.

Sri Lanka may have won but West Indies can take heart from their batting effort. 193 was a huge target given Sri Lanka's bowling might, and a Gayle-less West Indies did a decent job of the chase. Their fielding though was woeful, particularly in comparison with Sri Lanka's and that might well have been the difference between the two sides.

Now both teams separated for the next stage, one is placed in easier Group than the others. West Indies have to lift their fielding effort if they would like to compete with teams like India, England and South Africa in super eights stage.

West Indies will play their first game against defending World Champions India on Friday 12th of June while Sri Lanka will take on Pakistan on same day at Lord’s Cricket ground.

Sanath Jayasurya was declared Player-of-the-Match for his blazing knock of 81 runs of 47 balls.

Match Summary (Sri Lanka won by 15 Runs)

Sri Lanka – 192/5 in 20 Overs

S.Jayasurya- 81 T.Dilshan –71

L.Simmons– 3-0-19-4 J.Taylor- 4-0-32-1

West Indies– 177/5 in 20 Overs

D.Bravo- 51 L.Simmons–29

A.Mendis – 4-0-25-2 L.Malinga- 4-0-45-2


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 2:43 AM  
  • At June 11, 2009 at 3:21 AM, Blogger Abilash said…

    to waTCH LIVE CRICKET ONLINE FOR FREE its live match on internet and not live scorecard.

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web