Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, June 8, 2009

Twenty20 World Cup 2009 – Australia and Bangladesh face music in do-die game

Bangladesh v Ireland – Perform or Perish for both teams

Bangladesh after loosing to India in their first game face them in a must win situation against Ireland. Latest news is that Bangladesh is struggling at 67/5 after 11 overs at Trent Bridge, Nottingham with all their big guns back in the hut.

Bangladesh who lost to India by 25 runs on Saturday, must win to keep their hopes alive of qualifying for the Super Eights. A defeat will send them packing from the 12-nation tournament.

Playing XI for both teams:

Bangladesh Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful (Capttain), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Raqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islaam, Rubel Hossain, Abdur Razzak.

Ireland Squad: William Porterfield (Captain), Jeremy Bray, Alex Cusack, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, Kyle McCallan, Kevin O’Brien, Naill O’Brien (Wicketkeeper), Boyd Rankin, Regan West, Gary Wilson.

Australia v Sri Lanka – Must win game for Australia against Sri Lanka

After receiving the beating by the hand of two West Indian batmen in their first game that causes the match and now they are in similar situation or we can say tougher situation than 2007 t20 world cup when they take on Sri Lanka in their second round-robin match.

The Australians, stunned by a seven-wicket defeat at the hands of the West Indies on Saturday following Chris Gayle's explosive 88 off 50 balls, cannot afford another loss. However a win also here could not guarantee their place in the Super Eight stage because of net run rate factor. They need to beat Sri Lanka by big margin to stay alive in the tournament.

The defeat against the West Indies was Australia's fourth Twenty20 loss in a row. That means One day and Test champion Australian team are finding difficulty in coping with shortest version of the game.

On the other hand Sri Lankan team will look to register a win against Aussie to knockout them out of the tournament.

Likely Playing XII for both teams (Match is schedule to begin at 18:00 PM India Time on 8th Of June)

Australia Squad: David Warner, Shane Watson, Ricky Ponting (Capttain), Michael Clarke, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (WK), James Hopes, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken.

Sri Lanka Squad: Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakara (Captain, WK), Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Farveez Maharoof, Thilan Thushara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 6:54 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web