Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, June 14, 2010

Indian Squad announced for Asia Cup 2010

Indian selectors on Monday taken some hard decision to drop the stylish left hander Yuvraj Singh from 15 member squads announced for Asia Cup 2010 to be played in Sri Lanka starting 15th of June 2010.

Sachin Tendulkar who has requested BCCI to give him rest is not included in the squad. The surprising element was the inclusion of young left hander Saurabh Tiwary who has done well recently in IPL 2010 as well as in Ranji Trophy for Jharkhand.

Yusuf Pathan was also axed from the team after performing badly in the ODI’s during Zimbabwe series. Selectors have made significant changes to the squad which is at presently touring Zimbabwe. Selectors have selected significantly stronger side than the one which failed to make it to the Final of Tri-series in Zimbabwe recently.

Regular Indian Captain M.S.Dhoni back to the Captaincy after being rested, also Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar and Ashish Nehra is back into the squad.

Ashok Dinda, the Bengal fast bowler, and R Ashwin, the Tamil Nadu offspinner and P.Ojha, who were part of the Indian squad for the tri-series in Zimbabwe, have been retained.

Dinesh Karthik and Amit Mishra also failed to make into the squad after poor show on Zimbabwe tour.

After selecting the squad, Indian Chief Selectors K.Srikanth told media that lost of emphasis has been given on form and fitness of players while picking the players.

Indian Squad for Asia Cup: MS Dhoni (Captain & WK), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, R Ashwin.

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Salman Butt (vice-capt), Imran Farhat, Shahzaib Hasan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Umar Amin, Kamran Akmal (WK), Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Aamer, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman.

Sri Lanka Squad for Asia Cup: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain & WK), Muttiah Muralitharan (VC), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welegedara, Lasith Malinga, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Thilina Kandamby.

Bangladesh Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 3:20 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web