Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Tuesday, May 18, 2010

England became the 2010 World twenty20 Champions

England finally held their nerves to lift their first ever World Cup title in their cricketing career after beating Australia in the Final by seven wickets at Barbados. The success came after too many finale failures and missed chances, but as the old saying “all wells if ends well”.

It has almost taken England 35 years and 18 ICC tournaments to finally get their names on ICC World tournaments. Before that, they have made it to the 1979 world cup final but failed to get over the line, same story repeated again in 1987 world cup against Australia and in 1992 world cup everyone thought they will finally get third-time lucky but Pakistan written different story at the end of the game. In 2004 also they were looked certain to lift the ICC mini world cup against West Indies in the final but this time again their luck didn’t go their way and they end of loosing the final to West Indies.

Before this final, many were expecting the same old story by considering the Australian forms but this time they came out with thoughtful plan and their execution to lift their first ever world twenty20 title.

Chasing a competitive score of 149 for victory, England hardly looked in any discomfort and reached home with three overs to spare thanks to brilliant 111 runs stand between C.Kieswetter (63 runs off 49 balls) and K.Pietersen (47 runs off 31 balls) which put England in their first world title winning position.

C.Kieswetter and K.Pietersen both looked in superb touch right from the word go and never allowed Australian bowlers to settle down after loosing M.Lumb (2 runs off 4 balls) in the very second over of their inning. K.Pietersen looked more aggressive than C.Kieswetter belting four boundaries and one six.

The duo walloped Australia's pace attack and once they saw off Dirk Nannes' three overs, they launched into the bowling. Shane Watson was taken for 42 runs in three overs.

However both batsmen departed in successive over to leave England needing another 27 runs to win from 35 balls. But England Captain Paul Collingwood (12 runs off 5 balls) and E.Morgan (15 runs of 13 balls) guided England to historic win.

Earlier, Paul Collingwood after winning the toss put Australia into bat and suddenly at the end of 3rd over reduced Australia to 8/3, England have taken firm control in the game. Cameron White (30 runs off 19 balls), M.Hussey (17 runs off 10 balls) and David Hussey (59 runs of 54 balls) tried there hard but could not helped Australia to post a threatening target for England.

C Kieswetter was declared Player of the Match for his superb 63 runs off 49 deliveries.

K.Pietersen was declared Player of the Tournament for his 248 runs in the tournament with an average of 137.77.

Match Summary (England Won by 7 Wickets)

Australia– 147/6 in 20 Overs

D.Hussey – 59 C.White- 30

R.Sidebottom- 4-0-26-2 G.Swann– 4-0-17-1

England – 148/3 in 17 Overs

C.Kieswetter- 63 K.Pietersen– 47

S.Smith– 3-0-21-1 M.Johnson- 4-0-27-1

England v Australia twenty20 world cup final highlights


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 12:39 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web