Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Sunday, May 16, 2010

Australia v England Twenty20 World Cup Final at Barbados

twenty20 world cup 2010The true champion always play like a champion and that is how Australia reached till here and they will be in no mood to let it go this great opportunity to lift their first wolrd twenty20 title when they will take on England in the Final of ICC World Twenty20 at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados.

We have heard that cricket is a funny game and you never know until the last ball bowled in the game and that is what proved in the second semi final when Australians came out from nowhere to snatch a victory from the hand of Pakistan riding on brilliance of Michale Hussey who made superb an unbeaten 60 runs of just 24 balls.

Australia who is yet to lose a game in this tournament came so close to lost their first game in knockout stage (2nd semi final) but as the old saying “so near so far” which many Pakistanis fans chanted in their head after their shocking defeat.

The story for England is very similar to Australia, they have also failed to perform in the first two edition of ICC World twenty20 and crashed out from the tournament without making any impact but this time they looked totally different team, apart from their opening game against West Indies they looked unbeatable thanks to allround performance from all of their players.

England knows that they are up against a team that doesn’t have world called “loss” in their dictionary and they need to perform very well if they would love to get over line in the world twenty20 final.

One thing were Australia may have an edge going into this game would be their depth batting. England have yet to have their batting depth truly tested at this event. On the other hand Australia looked in spot of bother in three games in the tournament against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan and on all three occasions their lower order number seven and eight batsmen helped them to get out of hole and win the game from there which is truly remarkable for them.

Twenty20 is such a short format of the game, no one can predict who will be the winner but as per stats we can say Australia will be the firm favorite to lift the title but in the fast-paced world of Twenty20, predictions can be over in an over.

Watch out for

Kevin Pietersen: He has played as per the reputation he is known for and England would expect another super inning from him to lift their first ICC global event cup. Pietersen has led the way for England with 201 runs at an average of 67, including match-winning fifties in the Super Eights against Pakistan and South Africa. He has showed no sign of jet-leg as he made an unbeaten 42 runs off just 26 balls in the semi final against Sri Lanka.

David Warner: So far he has played brilliantly in the tournament but the failure in last two innings indicate that he is dew for the big one and it will no greater moment than the Final of world twenty20 for Warner to deliver when it matters most. He likes Barbaods wickets where ball comes nicely onto bat, so this makes an interesting contest between him and England bowlers.

Pitch & Condition

As we have seen in the super eight games played at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados that is provides plenty of bounce and support to the fast bowlers, so we can expect good contest with bat and ball. Because of 11:30 start there will be no confusion for the captain winning the toss, any captain would love to bat first and put runs on the board in such a pressure game.


Bothe teams looks settled so it’s highly unlikely that any change will occur in anoy of the team unless something happen at the last moement to the player’s fitness.

Likely Playing XI for both Teams (Match is Schedule to begin at 21:00 PM India Time)

Engalnd Squad: Craig Kieswetter (WK), Michael Lumb, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (Captain), Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, Michael Yardy, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom.

Australia Squad: David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (WK), Michael Clarke (Captain), Cameron White, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Dirk Nannes, Shaun Tait.


This is the first time when other than Asian team will feature in twenty20 world cup Finale.

England have never won a major ICC tournament and they will surely eye this won.

Australia have sweet memory of playing at Barbados in such pressure game in 2007 world cup final where they beaten Sri Lanka by 53 runs to lift the world cup in 2007 in 50-over format.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:07 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web