Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Sunday, June 13, 2010

India beat Zimbabwe by 6 Wickets comfortably in 1st twenty20

So finally India able to register their first win on this tour against the home side after some fine display of spin bowling from spin-trio P.Ojha, R.Ashwin and Piyush Chawla which helped India to restrict Zimbabwe to 111/9 in their 20 overs and later some lusty hitting from Yusuf Pathan secured a comfortable win for the Indians by 6 wickets with five overs spare.

Chasing the target of 112 runs, Indians were jolted by early blow from C.Mpfou who removed both openers M.Vijay (5 runs from 5 balls) and N.Ojha (2 runs of 9 balls) in quick succession.

Indian Captain Suresh Raina (28 runs of 17 balls) and Rohit Sharma (10 runs of 15 balls) put on 35 runs of 26 balls before perishing in the same over of R.Price to leave India in a danger of loosing yet another game against host.

With 48/4 in the 8th over and only Yusuf Pathan and Kohli the two recognized batsmen to follow, it looked like the in-experienced Indian batting line-up will fell like a pack of card but Yusuf Pathan lusty blow in quick succession given India an upper hand and it was just a matter of good partnership to guide India home. That is what both Virat Kohli (26* runs of 21 balls) and Yusuf Pathan (37* runs of 24 balls) did by putting on an unbeaten partnership of 64 runs off 44 balls.

With this win India lead the two match series by 1-0 with the next game will be played at same venue on 13th of June at same venue.

Earlier, Indian captain after winning the toss put Zimbabwe into bat. Zimbabwe came out all bats blazing, but charred themselves as well, losing too many wickets early and later Indian spinners taken full control of Zimbabwe innings to restrict the host to 111 runs. Paceman R Vinay Kumar (3/24) was the most successful bowler with three wickets while Ashok Dinda (2/27) and Pragyan Ojha (2/11) accounted for two victims apiece.

For Zimbabwe only C.Chibhabha (40 runs off 30 balls), C.Ervine (30 runs off 42 balls) and B.Taylor (15 runs off 9 balls) able to get into double figure mark.

Yusf Pathan was declared Player of the Match his match winning 37 runs of 24 balls.

Match Summary (India Won by 6 Wickets)

Zimbabwe– 111/9 in 20 Overs

C.Chibhabha – 40 C.Ervine- 30

R.Vinay Kumar- 3-0-24-3 P.Ojha– 4-0-11-2

India – 112/4 in 15 Overs

Y.Pathan- 37* S.Raina– 28

R.Price– 4-0-24-2 C.Mpfou- 4-0-31-2

If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 12:13 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web