Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, September 27, 2010

Chennai Super Kings became the 2010 Champions League Champion

Chennai Super Kings continued their good show as they lift the Champions League 2010 after beating Warriors in the Final here at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. After winning the toss Warriors didn’t put a total which was comparative and in the end Chennai Super Kings chase down it with ease.

M.Muralitharan and R.Ashwin turn the game in Chennai Super Kings favor after picking up 5 wickets in between them. Warriors as usual got off to flying start with their Captain David Jacobs once again looked dangerous for his 34 runs off 21 balls but a reverse sweep in the sixth over which was a shot which he had played so well in this tournament cost him his wicket. From there on Muttiah Muralitharan suffocated the Warriors with his skill, and L Balaji maintained the pressure with a disciplined spell in the middle, keeping the Warriors to 128, which was never going to be enough.

Warriors never looked comfortable during their outing once they lost their captain. M.Muralitharan and L.Balaji both maintained super line and length in the middle overs to keep their batsmen in check. The real success came when M.Muralitharan bowled experienced M.Boucher in the 15th over and that is when most of the Chennai fans started to celebrate.

The only momentum came in the 17th over when Thyssen went after Balaji to pick up three boundaries - a pulled four, a delicate late steer and a muscled six over midwicket. However it was too late for Warriors as they are left with only 12 deliveries to play and to score more than 40 runs to post a comparative total.

Chennai Super Kings started their run chase in great fashion with M.Vijay (58 runs off 53 balls) and M.Hussey (51* runs off 46 balls) put on 103 runs off just 89 balls to almost seal the game for Super Kings. However dismissal of M.Vijay and S.Raina in quick succession did raise some hope for the Warriors in the 16th over. But Captain Cool M.S.Dhoni has other idea with Chennai needing 13 runs off last 12 deliveries; Dhoni (17* runs off 12 balls) hit much needed six over long off boundary and then two classical Dhoni styles four to finish the game for Super Kings.

M.Vijay was declared Player of the Match for his match winning knock of 58 runs off 53 balls.

R.Ashwin was declared Player of the Series for his 13 wickets in the tournament.

M.Vijay has been awarded Golden Bat for scoring most number of Runs 294.

R.Ashwin has been awarded Golden Wicket for picking up most number of wickets that is 13 wickets.

Warriors received the runners-up cheque of US$1.3 million.

Chennai Super Kings received the winner cheque of US$2.5 million.

Match Summary (Chennai Super Kings Won by 8 Wickets)

Warriors– 128/7 in 20 Overs

D.Jacobs- 34 C.Thyssen– 25

M.Muralitharan- 4-0-16-3 R.Ashwin– 4-0-16-2

CSK– 132/2 in 19 Overs

M.Vijay- 58 M.Hussey– 51*

M.Ntini- 4-0-30-1 N.Boje– 4-0-29-1


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:28 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web