Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, April 26, 2010

Chennai Super Kings became the IPL 2010 Champions

Chennai Super Kings played one of the superb games of tournament to beat the favorite Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to clinch the IPL season3 trophy. Suresh Raina was starred with the bat, ball and in fielding department. Without any doubt he was adjudge man of the match.

So M.S.Dhoni has achieved another milestone in his short career, it was he who started to turn the game in Chennai Super Kings favor when he came out to bat, his deputy Suresh Raina capitalized on two dropped catches to score a crucial fifty in the big IPL final to post 168/5 in their 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians started their run chase very cautiously and let required run rate mount to more than 10 runs an over inside the 3rd over. However they have kept their wicket intact but it was always going to be tough for the batsman to follow and that’s what happened to them. Another blunder mistakes they have done by sending hard-hitting batsman K.Pollard way too late. Apart from Sachin Tendulkar (48 runs of 45 balls) and K.Pollard (27 runs of 10 balls) no batsmen able to get going and in the end Mumbai fell short by 22 runs.

When K.Pollard walk into bat in the middle, Mumbai Indians needed 55 runs of last three overs but this big man kept Mumbai in the hunt after smashing D.Bollinger for 22 runs in the 18thth over but A.Morkel kept his cool and bowled with superb line and length to destroy the hopes of Mumbai Indians in the 19th over when he dismissed K.Pollard with a brilliant field setting from M.S.Dhoni. over. Needing 33 runs of last two overs, Mumbai Indians needed something similar to what happened in the 18

Earlier Chennai Super Kings after winning the toss decided to bat first in the pressure game. However once again they have failed to get the start from big Mathew Hayden (17 runs of 31 balls) as per their liking and they were struggled so much that they get pass 50 runs mark in the 10th over. At 67/3 in the 12th over, it was now to S.Raina (57 runs of 35 balls) and M.S.Dhoni (22 runs of 15 balls) to guide Chennai Super Kings to fighting total.

Both played brilliantly by putting on crucial 72 run partnership of just 35 balls to guide Chennai Super Kings to comfortable position. S.Raina was also helped by two lives given by Zaheer Khan and D.Fernando when he was on 22 and 32.

IPL 2010 Awards

Chennai Super Kings awarded the IPL 2010 trophy and Rupees 6 Crore as winning awards.

Mumbai Indians awarded the runners-up check of Rupees 3 Crore.

Sachin Tendulkar won the Golden Player of Tournament award along with Orange Cap for scoring most number of runs in IPL season3. He has scored 618 runs in 15 matches with an average of 47.53 which is most by any player in all three season.

Suresh Raina won the Player of the Match award.

Saurabh Tiwary won the under-23 Player of the Tournament award.

Andrew Symonds won the Karbon Mobile Catch of the tournament award.

P.Ojha won the Purple Cap award for taking most number of wickets in the tournament. He has taken 21 wickets with an average of 20.42.

Chennai Super Kings won the Kingfisher Fair Play award. They have scored the most number of points 140 in the 14 games at league stage.

Match Summary (Chennai Super Kings Won by 22 Runs)

Chennai Super Kings – 168/5 in 20 Overs

S.Raina- 55* M.Vijay– 26

D.Fernando- 4-0-23-2 K.Pollard– 4-0-45-1

Mumbai Indians– 146/9 in 20 Overs

S.Tendulkar- 48 K.Pollard- 27

S.Jakati- 3-0-26-2 S.Raina– 2-0-21-1

If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:50 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web