Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Saturday, December 19, 2009

Indian Captain M.S.Dhoni banned for ODI at Cuttack and Kolkata

India Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been banned by match referee Jeff Crowe because of slow over rate by Indian team. They were bowled their last eight overs of the inning in more than one hour. India were three overs short, which comes under the "serious over-rate offense" category.

Falling short by two overs in ODI or in a five day test match is considered as minor offence but falling short by three overs is considered as major offense and only because of this M.S.Dhoni ban will be immediately take effect. That means he will have to sit out of Cuttack and Kolkata ODI’s against Sri Lanka. The rest of the Indian players were fined 40% of their match fee for the offense.

If India repeats a serious over-rate offence in any form of the game within the next 12 months, Dhoni could earn himself a ban of two to eight ODIs or one to four Tests.

Indian team is announced for the next two ODI’s

Indian selectors have announced the 15 man squad for the next two one day internationals against Sri Lanka to be played on 21st and 24th of December 2009 at Barabati Stadium, CuttackEden Garden, Kolkata. and

There are only two changes in the squad which was announced for the first two ODI’s. Ishant Sharma is called back in place of S.Sreesanth and wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik is called for banned Indian captain M.S.Dhoni.

The captaincy job is handed over to Virendra Sehwag while Gautam Gambhir will be his deputy.

Selectors have kept Yuvraj Singh in the 15 member squad who has not played a single match because of a finger injury and flu, which is an indication that the elegant left hander was expected to be fit for the remaining three matches of the five-match series.

India Squad for 3rd and 4th ODIs: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hrbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Sudeep Tyagi, Virat Kohli.

Angelo Mathews to miss rest of one day internationals

Sri Lanka all-rounder Angelo Mathews who did it with the bat during the second ODI will miss rest of the Karbon Mobile ODI Series. The medium-pacer strained his right quadricep during his match-winning 37 not out in Friday's second ODI.

Thissara Peera is called for to take the place of Angelo Mathews.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad (Updated): Kumar Sangakkara (capt/wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Tilina Kandamby, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Ajantha Mendis, M.Pushpakumara, Suraj Randiv, T.Peera.

If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:56 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web