Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Sunday, December 13, 2009

2nd Twenty20 at Mohali - India thrashed Sri Lanka by record six wickets win

Yuvraj Singh smashed an unbeaten 60 runs of just 25 balls to help India to successfully chase down the target of 207 runs and register their first win in twenty20 after loosing four in a row.

On his 28th birthday he looks completely determined to play his important part in the game, first he has taken three wickets to help India to restrict the Sri Lanka to only 206 runs and then capitalizing on the start given by India openers Virendra Sehwag (66 runs of 36 balls) and Gautam Gambhir (21 runs of 18 balls) to make sure India reach the target comfortably. India romped home with five balls to spare as Yuvraj Singh finished things with his fifth six of the innings.

Other major contributor was Indian Captain M.S.Dhoni (46 runs of 28 balls) who scored his highest score in twenty20. India recorded the highest ever successful chase by any side in twenty20 game’s history. South Africa had made 208 for 2 against West Indies at JohannesburgIndia surpassed it with 211/4 in 19.1 overs. in 2007 but

First three partnerships during Indian innings all contributed more than 50. First Gautam Gambhir and Virendra Sehwag added 58 runs for the first wicket, for second wicket M.S.Dhoni and Sehwag added 50 runs while Yuvraj Singh and M.S.Dhoni added 80 runs in just 36 balls. This provided the first such instance in T20 internationals history.

Sri Lanka also became the first team to score two consecutive 200 plus score in twenty20.

This match will be also remembered for poor fielding show from both sides. There are total 9 catches dropped today and three run out chances were missed. India dropped six, while Sri Lanka dropped three catches and missed three run out opportunities.

Story could have been different if Sri Lanka have taken all those catches and capitalize on the missed run out chances.

Earlier Kumar Sangakara continued his form with bat from where he has left in Nagpur. He has scored 59 runs of 31 balls with two sixes and eight fours. Sanath Jayasuriya weighed in with 31 from just 21 balls, and there was a punishing 38 runs from Chintaka Jayasinghe.

Now both teams will take each other in five match ODI series starting on 15th of December 2009 at Rajkot which will be day match.

Kumar Sangakara was declared Player of the Series while Yuvraj Singh was declared Player of the Match.

Match Summary (India won by 6 wickets)

Sri Lanka – 206/7 in 20 Overs

K.Sangakra- 59 C.Jayasinghe– 38

Yuvraj Singh– 3-0-23-3 I.Sharma- 4-0-42-2

India– 211/4 in 19.1 Overs

V.Sehwag- 64 Y.Singh– 60*

L.Malinga- 4-0-28-1 D.Dernando– 4-0-29-1

India v Sri Lanka 2nd twenty20 Highlights


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 2:50 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web