Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Wednesday, December 2, 2009

India and Sri Lanka finished first day on balance note in third test math at Mumbai

It could have been all different story at the end of first days play if visitors kept more wickets intact but at the end of days play both teams are evenly placed. With eight wickets loss with 366 runs on the board, Sri Lanka will look to cross 450 runs mark before loosing last two wickets on the other hand India will look to wrap up the inning within few overs on 2nd days play.

Apart from T.Dilshan fluent 109 runs and A.Mathews aggressive unbeaten 86, no Sri Lankan batsman got on to score big runs after getting start of their inning. After electing to bat first Sri Lanka would have loved to put 500 runs on the board to put extreme pressure on the host but now situation is totally different and this could be anyone’s game.

Earlier Indian pace bowlers could not bowl a consistent line and length which allowed Sri Lanka openers to score freely and at brisk pace. Both openers put on 93 runs for the first wicket before Harbhajan Singh dismissed dangerous looking T.Paranavitana (53 runs).

At lunch Sri Lanka would be quite happy with 117 runs on the board for the loss of just one wicket. However Indian bowler bounce back with bang by dismissing Kumar Sangakara (18 runs), M.Jayawardne (29 runs) and T.Samarweera (1 runs) to get an upper hand in the game. However two crucial partnership between T.Dilshan and A.Mathews (86* runs) of 74 runs for the fifth wicket and then between A.Mathews and P.Jayawardne (43 runs) of 67 runs for the sixth wicket put Sri Lanka back on track.

By looking at pitch we may witness results inside the four days of play.

Match Summary (Day1 Stump)

Sri Lanka 1st Inning– 366/8 in 89 Overs

T.Dilshan- 109 A.Mathews– 86*

Harbhajan Singh– 29-2-107-4 P.Ojha- 23-1-97-2

Here is the playing XI of both teams:

India: V.Sehwag, M.Vijay, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, M.S.Dhoni (Captain & WK), Harbhajan Singh, Z.Khan, S.Sreesanth, P.Ojha.

Sri Lanka: Tharanga Paranavitana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene (WK), N.Kulasekara, R.Hearth, Muttiah Muralitharan, C.Welegedara.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:27 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web