Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Thursday, July 8, 2010

Indian Test Squad announced for Sri Lanka tour

On Saturday, Indian selector given another lifeline to a player ‘Yuvraj Singh’ who was recently dropped from the team after poor show in the ODI’s and twenty20 world cup. Yuvraj Singh who is struggling with his form and fitness will have to prove his selection if he would look forward to play for India.

Suresh Raina also able to retain his place in the 16 member test squad announced for Sri Lanka tour. As expected selectors also recalled youngster Ishant Sharma as well as S.Sreesanth as a support bowler for Zaheer Khan. Indian selectors also selected three spinners including Amit Mishra and P.Ojha lead by Harbhajan Singh.

Ishant and Sreesanth, part of India's last Test squad, have gone through pretty ordinary times in limited-overs cricket since then, both in the IPL and while playing for India. More so because none of the alternatives tried in their absence have impressed enough. And Ashish Nehra is not willing to play Tests, while Praveen Kumar is strictly a limited-overs bowler.

Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik and his Tamil Nadu teammate S Bardrinath have been dropped from the Test side, while the three specialists and senior most players Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and V.V.S. Laxman are named in 16-member squad announced for Sri Lanka test series starting July 18.

India will start their tour with three day tour game followed by three match test series. The first test match will be played from July 18th to 22nd at Galle, while other two matches will be played from July 26 – 30 and August 3-7 at SSC and PSS Grounds, Colombo.

Zaheer Khan and S.Sreesanth because of injury has been ruled out of the Sri Lanka tour and in place of him now A.Mithun and Munaf Patel will take part in Sri Lanka test series.

India 16 Member Test Squad for Sri Lanka tour: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain & WK), Virender Sehwag (Vice-Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Wrindham Saha (WK), Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, M.Patel, A.Mithun.

Tags: , , , , ,

If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 12:55 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web