Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Sunday, January 3, 2010

Indian Squad announced for Bangladesh Tri-Series – Tendulkar Rested while Rohit called in the team

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar wanted a rest from the international cricket before the two match test series against Bangladesh, so as per his desire Indian selector rested him for the triangular series to be played between India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in Bangladesh starting from January 4th 2010.

Sachin Tendulkar will be replaced by Rohit Sharma in the 16-man squad while Yuvraj Singh declared fit to be included in the squad.

Indian pacer Ishant Sharma and swing bowler Praveen Kumar were dropped from the 16-member squad announced by Indian Selectors. Both players are replaced by S.Sreesanth and Ashok Dinda. Amit Mishra displaced Pragyan Ojha while Ravinder Jadeja retained his spot as the lone allrounder.

S.Sreesanth who were not able to take part in the ODI series against Sri Lanka because of swine flu is recovering well and included in the 16 member squad. Virendra Sehwag is also named as vice-captain after taking India to a series victory in the absence of M.S.Dhoni against Sri Lanka in the two matches.

The team to be captained by Dhoni has six specialist batsmen, two specialist spinners and five pacemen, one all-rounder as Ravinder Jadeja and two wicketkeepers Dinesh Karthik and Captain M.S.Dhoni himself.

In Sachin Tendulkar absence, Gautam Gambhir will open the innings along with Virendra Sehwag.

Indian Squad for Tri-series: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni (Captain & WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, S.Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Amit Mishra.

Sri Lanka Squad for Tri-series: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain & WK), Tillakaratne Dilshan (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thissara Perera, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Malinga Bandara, Suraj Randiv, Thilan Thushara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chanaka Welagedera.

Bangladesh Squad for Tri-series: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mohammad Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Mushfiqur Rahim (VC & WK), Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah, Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kopali, Shafiul Islam.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:43 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web