Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Thursday, April 23, 2009

IPL twenty20 - Gilchrist and Rohit Sharma guide Deccan Chargers to another win

Deccan Chargers celebrates their second successive wins in IPL by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 24 runs. Electing to bat first Deccan Chargers posted huge total on the board with the help of half century from A.Gilchrist (71 runs of 45 balls) and Rohit Sharma (52 runs of 30 balls).

A.Gilchrist and H.Gibbs (13 runs of 7 balls) gave perfect start to the team by putting 46 runs on the board in just 23 deliveries. The most important partnership of Deccan Chargers innings was between Rohit Sharma and Gilchrist, both went on to put quick-fire 61 runs of just 36 balls.

A.Gilchrist was finally dismissed for 71 runs in 14th over of Chargers inning, however Rohit Sharma picked his momentum and smashed 5 huge sixes and one fours to complete his first fifty of the season.

Chasing a stiff target of 185 to win, Royal Challengers Bangalore didn’t get the start as they were expecting from their openers. Jessy Ryder once again failed with bat as he has been dismissed for first ball duck by F.Edwards. Last match top scorer J.Kallis also failed with the bat getting out after making just 50 runs.

In first six over Royal Challengers Bangalore just manage 32 runs while Deccan Chargers at same stage scored 58 runs. Loosing too many wickets at start didn’t helped Bangalore course. Rahul Dravid (48 runs of 27 balls) and Virat Kohli (50 runs of 2 balls) did put up a good show with bat in the end but it was too late for the Bangalore to win it from there.

R.P.Singh once again proved too hot to handle as he manage to grab two wickets in his quota of four overs. Styris was the highest wicket taker (3 wickets) for Chargers.

With the inning of 48 runs, Rahul Dravid able to grab his orange cap back from Australia Mathew Hayden and R.P.Singh gets the Purple cap as the leading wicket-taker.

Next game of IPL will be played on 23rd of April between Chennai Super Kings Vs Delhi Daredevils (Kingsmead, Durban) and Rajasthan Royals Vs Kolkata Knight Riders (Newland, Cape Town).

A.Gilchrist was declared Man of the Match for his sparkling knock of 71 runs.

Match Summary (Deccan Chargers won by 24 Runs)

Deccan Chargers – 184/6 in 20 Overs

A.Gilchrist- 71 R.Sharma –52

K.Pietersen – 4-0-31-2 D.Styen– 3-0-21-1

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 160/8 in 20 Overs

V.Kohli- 50 R.Dravid –48

S.Styris– 4-0-32-3 R.P.Singh– 4-0-17-2


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 12:31 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web