Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, April 20, 2009

IPL Twenty20 – Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers won their opening game

Danniel Vettori helped Delhi Daredevils to beat Kings XI Punjab by 10 Wickets

In the first game on day2 of IPL twenty20 in Newlands, Cape Town Delhi Daredevils registered an easy win against Kings XI Punjab by beating them by 10 wickets in rain reduced game.

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori played an important role by picking up three wickets for 15 runs in his quota of three overs that helped Delhi Daredevils to restrict Kings XI Punjab for just 104 runs in the rain reduced 12 overs game.

Chasing a target of 105 runs to win in 12 overs dashing opener Virendra Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir gave perfect start by smashing 24 runs in just 11 balls before rain came again. When play resumes the target was revised to 54 runs in 6 overs. Virendra Sehwag (38 runs of just 16 balls) and Gautam Gambhir (15 runs of 13 balls) just took another 18 balls to score remaining 30 runs.

Earlier Virendra Sehwag won the toss and put Kings XI Punjab into bat. However Karan Goel (38 runs of 21 balls) and Ravi Bopara (22 runs of 16 balls) gave perfect start to their team by putting on 67 runs in just 6 overs. D.Vettori who came on to bowl after mid inning breaks picked three quick wickets and then two run-outs in successive overs restricted the Kings XI Punjab from setting a stiff target.

D.Vettori was declared Man of the Match for his superb bowling performance.

Match Summary (Delhi Daredevils won by 10 Wickets)

Kings XI Punjab – 104/7 in 12 Overs

K.Goel- 38 R.Bopara –22

D.Vettori– 3-0-15-3 A.Salvi– 2-0-17-1

Delhi Daredevils – 58/0 in 4.5 Overs

V.Sehwag- 38* G.Gambhir –15

I.Pathan– 1-0-9-0 V.R.V.Singh– 1-0-5-0

Deccan Chargers crush Kolkata Kight Riders by 8 wickets

R.P.Singh magical bowling spell of 22/4 helped Deccan Chargers to bundle out Kolkata Knight Riders for just 101 runs and then Rohit Sharma (36 runs of 32 balls) and H.Gibbs (43 runs of 26 balls) put on unbeaten sparkling 69 runs unbeaten partnership for the third wicket to guide Deccan Chargers to register 8 wickets win over KKR.

Earlier B.McCullum won the toss and decided to bat first at Newlands, Cape Town wicket. However dangerous B.McCullum (1 runs of 3 balls) was removed in the very first over bowled by R.P.Singh caught down the leg side by A.Gilchrist. Two overs later R.P.Singh got another dangerous man C.Gayle (10 runs of 12 balls) back in the hut. Then it was all the way Deccan Chargers who looks completely different side from the last season IPL.

Their fielding was superb and that showed in the field. Apart from R.P.Singh superb bowling effort another man who went without notice was F.Edwards (4-1-6-0). F.Edwards kept the line and length tight giving nothing away to KKR batsman’s and finished his bowling spell by conceding just 6 runs in his quota of four overs.

R.P.Singh was declared Man of the Match for his superb bowling performance.

Match Summary (Deccan Chargers won by 8 Wickets)

Kolkata Knight Riders– 101/10 in 19.4 Overs

B.Hodge- 31 A.Chopra –11

R.P.Singh– 3.4-0-22-4 P.Ojha– 4-0-14-2

Deccan Chargers – 104/2 in 13.1 Overs

H.Gibbs- 43* R.Sharma –36*

A.Dinda– 3-0-24-1 I.Sharma– 3-0-13-0

If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:01 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web