Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, June 2, 2008

Rajasthan Royals the 1st DLF IPL twenty20 Winner – Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 3 Wickets

A tournament that lasted for 45 days anyone could not asked for better finish than what we have witness in the IPL twenty20 final between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. A last ball win gave Rajasthan Royals a three wicket victory over Chennai Super Kings to lift the inaugural IPL twenty20 cup 2008.

Chasing the target of 164 runs for victory they didn’t get the start they were looking for and struggling at one stage for 42/3 in the 7th over of the game but Yusuf Pathan (56 runs of 39 balls) and Shane Watson (28 runs of 19 balls) put on a decent 65 runs partnership for 4th wicket to bring back their team on track.

However in the end it was get too close as Rajasthan Royals needing 18 runs from last two overs with Yusuf Pathan getting run out at the crucial moments of the game. But S. Tanvir (9 runs of 7 balls) and Shane Warne (9 runs of 9 balls) kept their cool and guided their team to a historic moment of the tournament.

Yusuf Pathan was brilliant on the day first he picked up three important wickets during Chennai Super Kings inning and then turn on with the bat to guide his team to one of the emphatic win. Yusuf Pathan capitalized well with the two chances he got while batting. First he was dropped by Suresh Raina when he was on 13 and then M.Gony dropped him for 33.

Earlier Shane Warne won the toss and as usual what he had done throughout the tournament put opposition team into bat. Chennai Super Kings got of to good start by their openers S.Vidyut and P.Patel both put on 44 runs for the 1st wicket.

But introduction to Y.Pathan into the bowling attack halt the scoring rate of Chennai Super Kings. Pathan got his first wicket as R.Jadeja took a fine diving catch at deep midwicket to remove S.Vidyut (16 runs of 14 balls). Y. Pathan got another success when P.Patel (38 runs of 33 balls) caught brilliantly by K.Akmal. Akmal also caught Albie Morkel (16 runs of 33 balls) in a melee to give Pathan his third scalp.

In the end it was Suresh Raina (43 runs of 30 balls) and M.S.Dhoni (29 runs of 17 balls) played a little cameo of innings to keep the team’s hopes alive. Both batsman hits 2 sixes and 1 fours each.

IPL twenty20 Awards

Rajasthan Royals was awarded 4.8 cr. rupees for winning the IPL and a beautiful IPL twenty20 trophy.

Chennai Super Kings was awarded 2.4 cr. rupees as runners up of IPL twenty20 final.

Y.Pathan was declared Man of the Match for his three wickets and brilliant half century.

S. Watson was declared Man of the Series for his brilliant performance in the tournament both with bat and bowl.

S. Tanvir was awarded Purple cap for his 22 wicket haul in IPL twenty20.

S.Marsh was awarded an Orange cap for most run getters in IPL twenty20.

S.Goswami was declared as best under19 players of the tournament.

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings– 163/5 in 20 Overs

S.Raina– 43 P.Patel – 38

S.Watson– 4-0-29-1 Y.Pathan 4-0-22-3

Rajasthan Royals– 164/7 in 20 Overs

Y.Pathan– 56 S.Watson- 28

A.Morkel– 4-0-25-2 M.Muralitharan– 4-0-39-2


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 10:55 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web