Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Sunday, June 5, 2011

India ODI-Test Squad for West Indies Tour

Indian team will tour West Indies with the second string squad after some of the players opted for much needed rest and other players were found injured. Players like Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, M.S.Dhoni were not included in the ODI squad by Indian selectors as per their request from BCCI.

Virendra Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra and Yuvraj Singh are injured. Sehwag and Gambhur both suffering from shoulder injury while Yuvraj Singh is suffering from respiratory infection. Ashish Nehra is not fully recovered from hand injury which happened during India v Pakistan World Cup semi final.

In the initial squad announced by Indian selector for ODI’s both Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh were named in the team to tour West Indies, however at later stage during IPL both players found injured and thus removed from the squad. In the absence of M.S.Dhoni and Gambhir, Suresh Raina will lead the newly looked squad against West Indies in the five match one day series.

The injury to some of the key Indian players has opened the door for few players. Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, S.Badrinath, Parthiv Patel all given the opportunity in the ODI by Indian selectors. S.Badrinath will also feature in test squad in the absence of master-blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

Virat Kohli who has done so well for India in limited over also included in the test squad. Abhinav Mukund a 21-year-old left-hand batsman has impressive first-class numbers to back him: an average close to 60 over 40 matches and 13 centuries, including a triple-ton also included in the test squad.

All in all, India will play ODI series without the service of Sachin Tendulkar, M.S.Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Gautam Gambhir, Virendra Sehwag and Ashish Nehra. And they will play test series without Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virendra Sehwag and C.Pujara.

India ODI Squad: Suresh Raina (Captain), Harbhajan Singh (VC), Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, R Ashwin, S Badrinath, Manoj Tiwary, Shikhar Dhawan, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar.

India Test Squad: MS Dhoni (Captain), VVS Laxman (VC), Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel.

West Indies 1st and 2nd ODI Squad: Lendl Simmons, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (Captain), Carlton Baugh (WK), Andre Russell, Anthony Martin, Devendra Bishoo, Ravi Rampaul.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 2:17 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web