Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Friday, October 2, 2009

ICC Awards 2009 - M.S.Dhoni awarded ICC ODI Player of the Year Award

Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson

Australian emerging all-rounder M.Johsnon wins a most prestigious award at ICC award ceremony and that is Cricketer of the Year award, he became only the sixth player to wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Johnson fought off stiff competition to take the award from fellow short-list nominees Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni, as well as England captain Andrew Strauss. But in the end he got more votes than his competitors. His performance in last one year is outstanding both with bat and bowls and that helped him to win the award.

ODI Player of the Year – M.S.Dhoni

Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni wins the ODI Player of the year award for the second successive times. His impressive record in ODI recently has left Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag as well as West Indies' Shivnarine Chanderpaul behind the race.

During this year M.S.Dhoni has played 24 one day internationals and scored 967 runs at an average of 60.43 and at a strike rate of 86.63. His impressive record in ODI has not only helped him to wins the award but his impressive captaincy also allowed him to name as world Test and ODI team’s captain.

Test Player of the Year – Gautam Gambhir

Indian opener Gautam Gambhir won a dream title of his life a Test Player of the Year award for his superb performance during the voting year with the bat. He scored 1269 runs at an impressive 84.60 in the eight Tests he played. In 1269 runs he has scored five centuries and four half-centuries during the period.

Emerging Player of the Year – Peter Siddle

Australian new pace sensation Peter Siddle named as Emerging player of the year award. P.Siddle, who played in 12 Test matches during voting period, took 49 wickets with an average of 28.93

Siddle was top choice of the judge members leaving teammates B.Hilfenhaus, G.Onions and Jesse Ryder behind.

Women’s Cricketer of the Year - Claire Taylor

England batsman Claire Taylor wins the Women’s cricketer of the year at the ICC Awards ceremony in Johannesburg. She has scored 565 runs with an average of 70.62 in the 18 one day internationals during the voting periods.

She also played in six Twenty20 matches managing 230 runs at a lofty 115.00.

Test and ODI Captain of the Year – M.S.Dhoni

Indian Captain M.S.Dhoni named as Captain of World Test and ODI team for the year 2009.

Here is the World ODI Team of year 2009

World ODI team of the year: Virender Sehwag (India), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Kevin Pietersen (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Yuvraj Singh (India), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), MS Dhoni (India, captain, WK), Andrew Flintoff (England), Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Umar Gul (Pakistan), 12th man: Thilan Thushara (Sri Lanka).

World Test Team of the Year: Gautam Gambhir (India), Andrew Strauss (England), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka), Michael Clarke (Australia), MS Dhoni (India, capt & wk), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Stuart Broad (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Harbhajan Singh (India, 12th man).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – T.Dilshan

Sri Lankan dashing opener Tilakratne Dilshan won the Twenty20 International performer of the Year award at ICC award ceremony at Johannesburg.

Spirit of Cricket Team – New Zealand

New Zealand team named as Spirit of Cricket Team of the year. New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori was handed the award. This is the second time when New Zealand has won this award. First time it was in 2004 under the captaincy of S.Flemming.

Associate Player of the Year - William Porterfield

Ireland Captain William Portefield has been awarded Associates Player of the Year award at ICC award Ceremony. Porterfield played for Ireland in 11 ODIs making two centuries and two half-centuries. His batting average was 46.80 with a strike rate of 77.10. As captain he also led Ireland to nine victories in those 11 matches.

Umpire of the Year – Aleem Dar

Pakistan’s umpire Aleem Dar finally ended Simon Taufel's monopoly to claim the Umpire of the Year award at Johannesburg. On previous six years Australian Simon Taufel had won this award.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:48 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web