Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, May 25, 2009

Deccan Chargers clinch thriller to become IPL 2009 Champions

Last year top team from the bottom becomes the top team from the top in 2009, what a turnaround this has been for Deccan Chargers. Who have thought at the start of the tournament that Deccan Chargers will be the IPL twenty20 2009 Champions? At Johannesburg they have done it and that too in great style.

A.Gilchrist and his team snatch a thriller against Royal Challengers Bangalore to become the IPL twenty20 2009 Champion on Sunday at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. After put into bat Deccan Chargers were held to 143/6 with some fine bowling from Captain Anil Kumble and R Vinay Kumar. They reached 143 thanks to H.Gibbs patience knock of 53 runs of 38 balls.

Royal Challengers Bangalore were on course of their target, but some tight bowling in the middle overs by Harmeet Singh, Pragyan Ojha kept Chargers in hunt and the key moments came when Andrew Symonds removed Ross Taylor and Virat Kohli in two successive deliveries of his 3rd over.

Andrew Symonds over turn the game on their heads as Deccan Chargers started to feel comfortable afterwards. Royal Challengers Bangalore failed to put any decent partnership during their run chase and that is the main reason they failed to achieve a smaller target of 144 runs to clinch the IPL title.

Earlier Anil Kumble won the toss and put Deccan Chargers into bat. He also made a brave move by bringing himself on in the very first over and same over he get rid off dangerous Adam Gilchrist for duck to make a dream start for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Deccan Chargers Kept loosing wickets at regular interval and in the end manage just 143/6 in their quota of 20 overs. Apart from Gibbs 53 runs. Rohit Sharma (24 runs of 23 balls) and Andrew Symonds (33 runs of 21 balls) were other contributor which helped Deccan Chargers to reach the score of 143 runs/

Awards in IPL 2009

Deccan Chargers has been awarded 6 Crore Indian Rupees with IPL trophy for becoming the IPL 2009 Champions.

A.Kumble was declared Man of the Match for his brilliant performance with the ball. He took 4 for 16 in his quota of four overs.

R.P.Singh has been awarded the Purple Cap for taking the most number of wickets in the tournament. He has taken 23 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 18.13.

Mathew Hayden has been awarded Orange Cap for scoring most number of runs in the tournament. He has scored 572 runs in 12 matches with an Average of 52.00.

Match Summary (Deccan Chargers won by 6 Runs)

Deccan Chargers – 143/6 in 20 Overs

H.Gibbs- 53* A.Symonds –33

A.Kumble – 4-0-16-4 R.Vinay Kumar– 4-0-30-2

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 137/9 in 20 Overs

R.van der Merwe- 32 R.Taylor –27

P.Ojha– 4-0-28-3 Harmeet Singh– 4-0-23-2


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:05 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web