Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Thursday, September 11, 2008

ICC Award 2008 – Dhoni and Yuvraj wins honour for ODI and T20I

In the 5th edition of ICC Awards Yuvraj Singh and M.S.Dhoni receives an honour award for Twenty20 and ODI. S.Chanderpaul of West Indies bagged Cricketer of the Year award.

Dhoni, who achieve number one rank in the ICC Ranking a few weeks ago with superb performance with the bat in the recently concluded ODI against Sri Lanka, is awarded best ODI Player of the Year for 2008.

Yuvraj Singh bagged twenty20 performer of the Year award after superb performance in inaugural twenty20 world cup. In the same series he hit six sixes in an over to create history.

The award show, which is regarded as cricket's Oscars, kicked off with the Emerging Player of the Year Award, which was handed to Sri Lanka's spin sensation Ajantha Mendis, who pipped fellow newcomers Ishant Sharma, Stuart Broad and Morne Morkel.

South African pace bowler Dale Styne able to win Test Player of the Year award while S.Chanderpaul bagged Cricketer of the Year award.

Sri Lanka is awarded Spirit of the cricketer award for their discipline on the field.

Simon Taufel of Australia has been awarded with best umpire of the Year award. Ryan ten Doeschate of Netherland has been awarded Associates player of the Year award.

ICC also declared best test team and ODI team of the year. In which Virendra Sehwag is the only Indian to gain spot in test side while Sachin Tendulkar and M.S.Dhoni is able to make into the ODI team.

So here is the list of winners for the LG ICC Awards 2008:

Cricketer of the Year: S.Chanderpaul (West Indies)

Test Player of the Year: D.Styen (South Africa)

One Day International Player of the Year: M.S.Dhoni (India)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Yuvraj Singh (India)

Emerging Player of the Year: Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)

Spirit of Cricket: Sri Lanka

Associate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherland)

Umpires of the Year: Simon Taufel (Australia

Women’s Player of the Year: Charlotte Edwards (England)

ICC Test Team of the Year: Greame Smith (South Africa) (Captain), Virender Sehwag (India), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies), Kevin Pietersen (England), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Brett Lee (Australia), Ryan Sidebottom (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) and Stuart Clark (Australia).

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Hershelle Gibbs (South Africa), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Ricky Ponting (Australia) (Captain), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Andrew Symonds (Australia), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India), Farveez Maharoof (Sri Lanka), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Brett Lee (Australia), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Nathan Bracken (Australia) and Salman Butt (Pakistan).


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:11 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web