Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, April 7, 2008

Indian Squad announced for third test match at Kanpur against South Africa

Indian team who were high on confidence after beating Australia in Australia now face an uphill task of squaring the home series against the protest. After first test match resulted in drawn no one even imagine that the same Indian team will lose the test match in three days at Ahmedabad.

However India not only lost the match but also gave themselves a hard time in the third match of series at Kanpur against South Africans. Indians have no other option other than beating the South Africans in the 3rd and final Test match of the series at Kanpur.

Indian selector on Sunday announced the 16 man squad for the last match to be played in Kanpur against the South Africans. South Africa after winning the second test match at Ahmedabad now just needs a draw to win the historic series here in India. Now it’s up to the Indians to show why they are ranked 2nd in the ICC test team ranking.

Sachin Tendulkar is already injured so he will already out of the series. Only R.P. Singh who made comeback from injury in the first two test matches against the South Africans has been not selected in sixteen member squad. Selectors have gone with same batting combination who failed to play more than 20 overs in the first inning of Ahmedabad test.

Hero of Australia tour Ishant Sharma was finally able to prove his fitness and able to make comeback to the squad. Munaf Patel was surprised pick by the selectors who able to make into the squad. Leg-spinner Piyush Chawla was also included in the team and Mumbai lad Ramesh Pawar was another surprise package in the team as per the selectors he was selected as third spin option if Kumble is not declared fit on 10th of April.

In the selection most surprising was Wasim Jaffer still manage to hold his place in the team and get into the sixteen member squad. He was given another opportunity by the selectors and Gautam Gambhir was overlooked once gain who is in prime form of his life throughout the CB Series in Australia.

If Anil Kumble opts for seven-four combination at Kanpur then All-rounder Yuvraj Singh and Md. Kaif have to fight for one place.

Indian Squad: Anil Kumble (Captain), Wasim Jaffer, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Saurav Ganguly, V.V.S Laxman, Md. Kaif, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, S. Sreesanth, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ramesh Pawar and Piyush Chawla


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 10:49 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web