Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Thursday, September 20, 2007

Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2007 – Today’s Match India vs South Africa, Pakistan vs Bangladesh, Australia vs Sri Lanka

Australia Vs Sri Lanka – Aussies beat Sri Lanka by 10 Wickets to enter the Semifinal of twenty20

Australia beat Sri Lanka comprehensively by 10 wickets to enter the first twenty20 World cup semi finals.

Earlier Acting Aussies Captain Adam Gilchrist won the toss and decided to bowl first at Newlands. Aussies bowler did their jobs handsomely by restricting Lankan lions for a mere total of 101 all out in 20th over. Sri Lanka never got going against the Australian pacers and were bowled out for only 101 runs in 19.3 overs.

Sri Lanka started losing wickets from the third ball of the innings when Brett Lee had Sanath Jayasuriya trapped lbw for the batsman’s second consecutive duck of the tournament. After that the Australians did not let go of the advantage and were helped to a large extent by some reckless shots by the Sri Lankan batsmen.

The Lankans crossed the 100-run mark only due to some sensible batting by the lower-order particularly Jehan Mubarak, Chaminda Vaas and Lasith Malinga all of whom crossed into the double figures.

Chasing a modest total of 102, Australian opener has no trouble at all and they win comprehensively by 10 wickets. Hayden remained unbeaten on 58 that came off 38 balls with the help of seven fours and two sixes, Gilchrist scored 31 (4x4) off 24 balls.

Stuart Clark was declared Man of the Match.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka – 101/10 in 19.3 Overs

Jehan Mubarak – 28 Kumar Sangakkara– 22

Stuart Clark 4-0-20-4 Nathan Bracken – 3.3-0-14-2

Australia – 102/0 in 10.2 Overs

Matthew Hayden –58* Adam Gilchrist – 31*

Dilhara Fernando 3-0-12-0 Tillakaratne Dilshan – 2-0-13-0

Pakistan Vs BangladeshPakistan likes their momentum going in their last twenty20 super eight match

Pakistan who already qualified for twenty20 Semifinals birth will be very keen to win their last match to remain in winning groove.

However on other hand Bangladeshi players after brilliant start to twenty20 loose their momentum and want to prove that they are far better side than the minnows.

So it’s look like that both team will play for their pride and don’t want to loose to one another. A win would guarantee that the Pakistanis top the Group. Bangladesh are already out of the cup but they sure wouldn’t mind a consolatory victory like the one they achieved against Pakistan in the 1999 World Cup.

Likely Squad for both the teams (match will begin from 17:30 Pm India Time)

Bangladesh Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Nadif Chowdhury, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel.

Pakistan Squad: Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik (capt), Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wk), Misbah-ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asif.

India Vs South Africa – Most Exciting Encounter Do or Die match at Durban in twenty20

After some exciting hitting against England, Indians found themselves in another do or die encounter against South Africans.

It is expected that we will be watching another high-voltage clash as India take on South Africa, the hosts, in a match that will decide which two teams will make it to the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20. Both teams scored impressive wins on Wednesday - Justin Kemp led South Africa to a target of 154 against New Zealand, while India, powered by an astonishing knock from Yuvraj Singh, amassed 219. The batting line-ups of both teams are power-packed, which suggests a run-fest is on the cards.

India's win against England also means three teams are still in contention for two semi-final slots. New Zealand's net-run rate is currently the least of the three teams, which means if India beat South Africa they will go through. Also, if South Africa lose by a heavy margin, their net run rate could drop below 0.05, which is New Zealand's current NRR. In that case India and New Zealand will make it to the semis. If South Africa win, of course, they'll get through along with New Zealand.

Likely Squad for both the teams (match will begin from 21:30 Pm India Time)

South Africa Squad: Graeme Smith (C), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher (WK), Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Johan van der Wath, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Andre Nel.

India Squad: Virendar Sehwag, Gautham Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C & WK), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Sreesanth, RP Singh.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 5:18 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web