Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Monday, June 25, 2007

India beat Ireland by 9 wkts - India Vs Ireland ODI 2007

Gautam Gambhir

India beat Ireland by 9 wickets after chasing the 171 run target in a rain affected game. Ganguly and Gambhir got India home after they were 9/1 in the very first over when Sachin Tendulkar bold by Irish opening bowler. But Gautam Gambhir and Sourav Ganguly batted superbly to guide India Home without losing any further wickets. Gambhir and Ganguly were not out at 80 and 74 respectively. Both have 162 run second wicket partnership after loss of Sachin Tendulkar in the very first over.

Earlier Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to field first on the moving wickets and his decision are well supported by his front line bowler S. Sreesanth and leg Spinner Piyush Chawla both picked up 3 wicket each. At one stage Ireland struggling at 111/6 but thanks to Wicketkeeper Nail Obrien (52 of 79 balls with 4 fours) and Captain Trent Johnson (34 with 1 fours and 2 huge sixes) which help Ireland to reach 193 in allotted 50 Overs.

India needed 194 to win but due to rain India get reduced target of 171 in 35 Overs according to D/L method. India started superbly with Sourav Ganguly hitting four runs on the very first ball of the Indian innings and in the same over Sachin Tendulkar hit the boundary in the offside but on the last ball of Roger Whelan, Sachin try to flick the ball in the onside but he miss the line of the ball and got out when India had 9 runs on the board. But Gautam Gambhir came out to bat and hit some lusty boundary in the start to release the pressure. Ganguly got some chance but he manage to keep his cool and both guided India to 9 wicket win over Ireland.

In this match India was playing without the master hitter Mahendra Singh Dhoni and paceman Zaheer Khan while Rohit Sharma is making his debut.

Gautam Gambhir was named Man of The Match after his brilliant 80 not out.

Indian Squad for this match is as follows: R Dravid (C), G Gambhir, S Ganguly, S Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, D Karthik, R Sharma, A Agarkar, RP Singh, Piyush Chawla, S Sreesanth.

Ireland Squad: T Johnston (capt), W Porterfield, K Carroll, D Joyce, N O'Brien, G Wilson, A White, K O'Brien, M Fourie, R Whelan, W McCallan.

All the Match will be display exclusively live on SAB TV at 3.00 PM India time.

Labels: , , ,


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 11:47 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web