Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Saturday, January 31, 2009

India Vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI – Confidant India look to continue their winning run

Indian team will be eying to get another win under their belt to increase their chances of making two ODI series win against the home side in Sri Lanka. Indian team is boosted by return of Virendra Sehwag in the playing XI as he is fit to play for second one day international at R.Premdasa Satdium, Colombo.

Indian team seams to be on a roll as they have won six out of six one day matches they have played so far and they seek to maintain their winning streak when they take on Sri Lanka in the day/night encounter. However toss will play another crucial role on the outcome of the result.

Before series started there were much hype about how Indian batsman will handle the spin magician Murali and Mendis but all obstacles are kept silence during first one day international as both bowler failed to do any damage to the Indian batting line up.

For the hosts, ageing warhorse Sanath Jayasuriya continues to be in good form but middle-order mainstay Kumar Sangakkara's and Captain Mahela Jayawardne inconsistent run with the bat has become a major concern.

Especially M.Jayawardne is the big headache for the team management as he last scored fifty in one day international 13 innings back and that is worrying sign for the Sri Lankan team.

Their bowling also looks flatter during the first game. They need to work in all departments if they want to put up good fight in the second game.

On the other hand Indian team bowling attack looks settled with Ishant Sharma and Zaheer Khan with backup support from M.Patel and P.Ojha.

Watch out for

M. Muralitharan: He might got only one wickets in the first one day international at Dambulla but he just need two more to became the leading wicket taker in the one day international. So he will try to set the record as early in the series as possible.

S.Tendulkar: He is eying to get the big score at this ground as this is one of the favorite grounds of Tendulkar. He has scored his first one day international century here and wants to get another one to his name. He might get out in the first match with the decision going against him but he will be eying big score in one day international in Sri Lanka.

Pitch and conditions

The pitch and condition at R.Premdasa stadium is dry and will support the batsman. However going by the statistics and records team batting first has most win at this venue, since balls start to move quite a bit under the light in the first 10-15 overs. So again toss will play another important factor on the outcome of this game as it always in Sri Lanka.

Stats & Trivia

Indian captain M.S.Dhoni just need six more runs to reach 4000 run mark in one day international and to become only sixth wicketkeeper batsman to achieve this milestone.

Mualitharan is only two wickets away from becoming the leading wicket takers in one day international surpassing the legend left arm pacer Wasim Akram record.

India has modest record at this venue as they have lost 16 and won only 12 at this ground.

Sanath Jayasurya is the highest runs scorer (2286 runs in 63 matches) at R.Premdasa Stadium and Sachin Tendulkar top the list for Indians with scoring 872 runs at average of 48.44.

Team News

After missing the first game due to hip injury, Virendra Sehwag is all set to return in the playing XI to strengthen the batting line up in place of Rohit Sharma. Rest team is likely to be same as played at Dambulla. Despite of loss in the first game Sri Lanka is likely to go into this match with same XI.

Likely Playing XI for both teams (Match is schedule to begin at 10:00 AM India Time on 28th Of January)

India Squad: Sachin Tendulkar, V.Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, S.Raina, Y.Singh, M.S.Dhoni (Captain & WK), Yusuf Pathan, P.Ojha, Z.Khan,I.Sharma, M.Patel.

Sri Lanka Squad: T.Dilshan, S.Jayasurya, K.Sangakara (WK), M.Jayawardne (Captain), T.Kandamby, C.Kapugedara, T.Tushara, F.Mehroof, N.Kulasekara, M.Muralitaran, A.Mendis.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 1:22 AM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web