Online Cricket Updates
Cricket Village

Online Cricket Updates, Cricket News and Highlights, Cricketer Profile, Indian Cricket Match Schedule at Cricket Village

<< Home
Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Indian team arrives for real battle against Australia in Australia

Indian team who is flying high on confidence after winning test series by 1-0 against Pakistan after 27 years arrives in Australia for 75 days tour. India will play four match test series against the mighty Australia thereafter they will play commonwealth triangular series. Third team to be participating in the series will be Sri Lanka.

India will start with the tour match against Victoria XI from 20th of December 2007. India will play their first test match against the Australians from 26th December at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

In Year 2007 Indian team achieved a lot and they want to continue there good show in 2008 also by beating the Aussies at their home soil. In last couple of months Indian team improved a lot and able to achieve what they were looking for many years. They were able to beat England at their home soil and able to win the series by 1-0.

Last time when India toured Australia they were very close to winning the test series but Australians manage to drawn the test series by 1-1.

Under new Test captain Anil Kumble, though the Indians have form and plenty of thoroughbred class in their ranks, they are nonetheless likely to get exposed to the travails of alien quarters, not just from the hosts but elements within their own dressing room.

This season Indian middle order batsman looks in excellent nick and they have to perform in same way if they want to beat the mighty Aussies on their home soil. Sourav Ganguly capped off his comeback year hammering his maiden double-century and compiling 1000 runs for the first time in a calendar year, while Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman have all amassed runs in characteristic fashion.

The bowling attack, although inexperienced, has a curious ingredient of raw pace, something which has been lacking in touring teams of the past. In Rudra Pratap Singh, S Sreesanth (subject to fitness), Ishant Sharma and Pankaj Singh, India have got a healthy boost of pace in their ranks, besides Zaheer Khan who leads the bowling attack, and a certain Irfan Pathan, who could turn out to be a vital cog in the team's armour.

16 members Indian Squad for the test match series against Australia

Batsman: Virendra Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh

Wicket keeper: MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik

Pace Attack: Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, R.P. Singh, Pankaj Singh, Ishant Sharma.

Spinner: Anil Kumble (C), Harbhajan Singh

India in Australia Schedule 2007-08

  • Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 : Tour match against Victoria XI at Junction Oval
  • 26 Dec – 30 Dec, 2007 : 1st Test Match at M.C.G
  • 2 Jan – 6 Jan, 2008 : 2nd Test Match at S.C.G
  • 10 Jan – 12 Jan, 2008 : Tour match against ACT Invitational XI at Canberra
  • 16 Jan – 20 Jan, 2008 : 3rd Test Match at Perth
  • 24 Jan – 28 Jan, 2008 : 4th Test Match at Adeilade Oval

After completing the four match test series with Australia, India will play triangular series involving Sri Lanka & Australia Commonwealth triangular Series.


If you like this post, then consider subscribing to my full feed RSS.
posted by KANISH RANJAN @ 12:52 PM  
Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

Dream11 Fantasy Cricket
Upcoming Cricket Series
Future Cricket Series
Twenty20 Hits
Cricketer Profile
Previous Post
Signup for Daily Cricket Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Full Feed Post
Score Board
Cool Cricket on Web